Hayv Kahraman

Hayv Kahraman is an amazing Iraqi born artist living in the United States. I find the images she produces both incredibly beautiful and profoundly disturbing.
With the seemingly endless string of honor* killings in the news around the globe, I just wanted to draw attention to one artist’s work. I do not possess the words nor do I inhabit a place where I feel confident enough to speak for her.
Her words:
“Sweeping the audience into the eyes of my characters while simultaneously inversing the scene into a celebration of the various cultures in our world, I endeavor to refocus the felt pain into an investment in the human capability to overcome and prevail.” –Hayf Design

“This tree holds numerous women who have been hanged in the name of honor. My inspiration for the tree is the Chinese art of growing trees (Penjing). They are kept small by skilled pruning and formed to create an aesthetic shape and the illusion of age. Ironically the same applies for many women in today’s society.”

*how is this honor?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

