Wintery windy Sundays and New England beaches.

I love snow and winter months but even I’m a little burnt out this year. After a seemingly endless string of weekly winter wonderlands, I’m feeling a little spent, highly cabin feverish and just generally exhaustedly apathetic. I lamented my need for something different, for change.
And was rewarded!
My friend got me out of my single room cave of frost and solitude and we shuffled off, bundled up and properly shoed, for an adventure on the far side of the bay.
First, breakfast in The Barn in Adamsville. Beautiful building in a very scenic locale. This place was good. Definitely a departure from my usual sunday morning haunting of the Liberty Elm‘s counter seats. Awesome french toast. Decent coffee. Super tasty red bliss home fries. All pretty decently priced, especially for Sunday brunch.
Now, comfortably full and only mildly drowsy, we were only relatively lost amid the looping back roads of Little Compton, home of the Rhode Island Red. Off to the beach. Out along a sandy point with a rocky strip jutting far out into the ocean, I remembered why I had gone back to grab my gloves and winter hat.
Wind, wind and more wind.
Blowing strong off the water, white caps on one side of the spit and dead calm along the other. It was everything one hopes a New England coastline to be in winter. Blustery cold and a bright shining sun, both forbidding and oddly alluring.
A need to stand atop rocks plastered with sea spray hardened to shimmering ice sheets, staring out across white tipped waves at emerald green nothingness until your face is red from the wind and the tips of your ears tell you to turn and go.
I love the West and its snowcapped peaks, but sometimes I really love digging boots into snow covered sand and remembering childhood walks along the shores of my youth. Long treks with my parents and the dog.
Empty moorings bobbing forlornly.
Snow drifts pushed up against the dunes.
All the things that an ocean deposits along its shore all winter long.

A long wintery walk, good food, hot tea and a good night’s sleep. I awoke today feeling a little less claustrophobic.
A little less urgent in my needing escape.


New boots!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

